Annual Theory Meeting

Applebey Lecture Theatre (Geography )

Applebey Lecture Theatre


Durham University Lower Mount Joy (Science Site)
Michael Spannowsky (IPPP, Durham University)

PosterThe Annual Theory Christmas Meeting will again be held in Durham, 12-14th December, hosted and organised by the Centre for Particle Theory, UKLFT, FPUK and the IPPP. Following tradition, we use the format of three days of talks from world-class speakers reviewing the latest developments in the key areas of our subject. 



Organisation Committee:

Steve Abel (IPPP)

Mohamed Anber (CPT Maths Durham) 

Jeppe Andersen (IPPP) 

Francesca Chadha-Day (IPPP) 

Simon Hands (Liverpool) 

Neil Lambert (KCL) 

Simon Ross (CPT Maths Durham) 

Michael Spannowsky (IPPP) 

Jessica Turner (IPPP)


All sessions of the 56th edition of the Annual Theory Meeting can be attended remotely via zoom using this link:

Join Zoom Meeting 

However, it will not be possible to ask the speaker questions or to unmute yourself. Questions can be submitted via zoom chat.


Confirmed speakers are:

Tarek Anous (QMUL)

Alessandro Bacchetta (U of Pavia)

James Edwards (U of Plymouth)

Anne Green (U of Nottingham)

Dorota Grabowska (U of Washington)

Gurtej Kanwar (U of Bern)

Clara Murgui (Caltech)

Matthias Neubert (U of Mainz)

Chris Parks (U of Manchester)

Peter Skands (Monash U)

Julian Sonner (U of Geneva)


    • 12:30 PM 2:00 PM
      Lunch 1h 30m
    • 2:00 PM 4:00 PM
      Session 1
      Convener: Jessica Turner (IPPP, Durham University)
    • 4:00 PM 4:30 PM
      Coffee break 30m
    • 4:30 PM 6:30 PM
      Session 2
      Convener: Prof. Jeppe Andersen (IPPP)
      • 4:30 PM
        Non-perturbative physics in precision event simulations 1h
        Speaker: Peter Skands
      • 5:30 PM
        Aspects of SCET and Collider Phenomenology 1h
        Speaker: Matthias Neubert
    • 6:30 PM 8:00 PM
      Dinner 1h 30m
    • 8:00 AM 8:45 AM
      Breakfast 45m
    • 9:00 AM 11:00 AM
      Session 3
      Convener: Martin Bauer (IPPP Durham)
      • 9:00 AM
        Strong Field QED 1h
        Speaker: James Edwards
      • 10:00 AM
        Multidimensional structure of the proton and opportunities at a new Electron Ion Collider 1h
        Speaker: Alessandro Bacchetta
    • 11:00 AM 11:30 AM
      Coffee break 30m
    • 11:30 AM 12:30 PM
      Session 4
      Convener: Francesca Chadha-Day (Durham University)
      • 11:30 AM
        Dark matter in particle physics and cosmology 1h
        Speaker: Anne Green
    • 12:30 PM 2:00 PM
      Lunch 1h 30m
    • 2:00 PM 4:00 PM
      Session 5
      Convener: Steven Abel (IPPP)
    • 4:00 PM 4:30 PM
      Coffee break 30m
    • 4:30 PM 5:30 PM
      Session 6
      Convener: Danny van Dyk (IPPP Durham)
      • 4:30 PM
        Flavour Physics at the start of a new era 1h
        Speaker: Chris Parkes
    • 6:30 PM 8:00 PM
      Dinner 1h 30m
    • 8:30 AM 9:15 AM
      Breakfast 45m
    • 9:30 AM 10:30 AM
      Session 7
      Convener: Nabil Iqbal
    • 10:30 AM 11:00 AM
      Coffee break 30m
    • 11:00 AM 12:30 PM
      Session 8
      Convener: Michael Spannowsky (IPPP, Durham University)
    • 12:30 PM 2:00 PM
      Lunch 1h 30m