YTF 12

Centre for Particle Theory, Durham

Centre for Particle Theory, Durham

IPPP & Dept. Mathematical Sciences Durham University South Road Durham DH1 3LE

Welcome to YTF 12!

YTF exists to bring together postgraduate students working in theoretical physics and encourage them to present their work to a sympathetic audience.  We hope to foster development of early-career researchers and encourage collaboration between students at different universities.

This year's plenary speaker will be Prof Gavin Salam.

YTF 12 will be held at Durham University between the 18th and 19th of December, 2019.  It is being organised to be seamlessly compatible with the UK Annual Theory Meeting, which will be held at Durham earlier in the same week.  We encourage you to come to both!

We encourage the submissions of abstracts for either short (10 minutes) or long (20 minutes) talks. Please see the Call for Abstracts page.

The conference is free to attend and accomodation and food will be provided.

Topics expected to be discussed include:

  • AdS/CFT
  • Amplitudes
  • Beyond-Standard-Model physics
  • Black Holes
  • Conformal Symmetry
  • Cosmology
  • Dark Matter
  • Data Science
  • Flavour Physics
  • Gravity
  • QCD
  • Machine Learning
  • Neutrinos
  • Non-Perturbative QFT
  • String Theory
  • Supersymmetric QFT



For more information, visit our website – and if you tweet, follow us at @Durham_YTF to keep up-to-date with the latest from the team.  If you have any questions, do get in touch at and someone from the YTF 12 team will get back to you.

  • Alasdair Ross
  • Alexander Mitchell-Lister
  • Amy Lloyd-Stubbs
  • Andrew Blance
  • Axel Polaczek
  • Benjamin Percival
  • Benjamin Pethybridge
  • Bruno Barton-Singer
  • Chloe gowling
  • Christos Vlahos
  • Connor Armstrong
  • Conor Elrick
  • Daniel Milne
  • Dorian Praia do Amaral
  • Dugald Hepburn
  • Elliott Reid
  • Emmet Byrne
  • Fionn Ó hÓgáin
  • Frederick del Pozo
  • Gavin Bewick
  • Giuseppe De Laurentis
  • Henry Day-Hall
  • Henry Truong
  • Hitham Hassan
  • Jack Holguin
  • James Richings
  • Jeremy Paltrinieri
  • Jonathan Cullen
  • Joseph Bullock
  • Joseph Walker
  • Julius Grimminger
  • Kevin Kwok
  • Kieran Finn
  • Lasse Carsten Schmieding
  • Maciej Matuszewski
  • Maeve Madigan
  • Marcel Hughes
  • Marian Heil
  • Matteo Sergola
  • Matthew Kellett
  • Matthew Renwick
  • Mohammad Akhond
  • Niamh Maher
  • Oscar Braun-White
  • Palvindar Chhokar
  • Parisa Gregg
  • Philip Glass
  • Rishi Mouland
  • Robson Christie
  • Ryan Moodie
  • Sam Crawford
  • Sam Rowley
  • Seamus Fallows
  • Simon King
  • Sumer Jaitly
  • Theresa Abl
  • Vasileios Letsios